The More Loving One

Looking up at the stars, I know quite well
That, for all they care, I can go to hell,
But on earth indifference is the least
We have to dread from man or beast.

How should we like it were stars to burn
With a passion for us we could not return?
If equal affection cannot be,
Let the more loving one be me.

Admirer as I think I am
Of stars that do not give a damn,
I cannot, now I see them, say
I missed one terribly all day.

Were all stars to disappear or die,
I should learn to look at an empty sky
And feel its total dark sublime,
Though this might take me a little time.

W H Auden

~ από basileios στο Αύγουστος 3, 2010.

2 Σχόλια to “The More Loving One”

  1. You are a veritable astronomer my friend. This is a very beautiful poem, thank you cause I didn’t know it.

  2. […] So is it the Astronomer after all? Possibly related posts: (automatically generated)A trip back on Memory Lane.Ahhh yeah!What have I become.Spaghetti alla Ioanna/ Μακαρονάδα αλά Ιωάννα 35.329162 25.138526 […]

Σχολιάστε

 
